Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

After reading book 7 I could not resist finding out how many of the storylines revolving around Xhex, John and Lash were going to resolved in Book 8. Once I began reading, like most of the other books from the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, I quickly became engrossed. I became involved with Xhex’s plight for freedom and her inner turmoil and loved the blind strength and determination of John to find the one he loved. Whilst reading I found myself skipping sections on the Lessers and Lash to continue reading about Xhex and John’s relationship, although I did always go back and re-read the parts I had missed out.

Although I did enjoy this book I do have one major problem with it, the complete omission of Mary. Discussing this with Miss Anna Key she made the point that the reader already knew the role that Mary had played in bringing John to the Brotherhood. However, when showing and telling Xhex about his past he left her out which I could not understand, even if it was just a small paragraph I would have been happy. Ward could have equally added some other information about how she taught him sign language, how she was his only friend in the world and a support to him in his new life. Instead, she once again kept the female characters she earlier portrayed hidden in the dark away from the readers gaze. This decision is one that continually perplexes me, Ward takes care to create these strong women who hold the hearts and strength of the Brotherhood, but once their book is over, they disappear to me briefly mentioned in a side-line. I thought that perhaps this would change with the intermingling storyline of Wrath, however, once again Beth was a dismissive mention.

Without giving anything away, there is a great twist that I did not see coming!

POTENTIAL SPOILERS:

I also cannot understand why Ward bothered to introduce the small storyline of Murhder and the reporters. Unless this will somehow develop later I saw it as needless as it did not present anything new or sexually interesting to the plot. Perhaps it was to give Xhex further closure, or maybe it was just to fill up Wards word count.

The Quinn/Blay situation is still on going as I expected it will continue to be for a while. I do wonder if Ward will eventually or ever dedicate a book or at least a large section of a book to a homosexual relationship or the shellans? I don’t want to spoil anything but there is a liaison of the male on male kind, however, unlike the copious detailing of heterosexual relationships in Wards previous books, these relations are kept firmly behind closed doors. To be honest this disappoints me because I think it could have been incredibly sexy, sensual and truthful to the characters.

Even though there are these negatives, Ward manages to make me not care because I am enthralled from the opening page, investing my time and feelings into her characters, and enjoying their sexual encounters, loves, pain and recoveries.