Tags

, , ,

SynopsisAfter turning his back on the throne for centuries, Wrath, son of Wrath, finally assumed his father’s mantle–with the help of his beloved mate. But the crown sets heavily on his head. As the war with the Lessening Society rages on, and the threat from the Band of Bastards truly hits home, he is forced to make choices that put everything–and everyone–at risk.

Beth Randall thought she knew what she was getting into when she mated the last pure blooded vampire on the planet: An easy ride was not it. But when she decides she wants a child, she’s unprepared for Wrath’s response–or the distance it creates between them.

The question is, will true love win out… or tortured legacy take over

NWW Review: My partner in crime and dynamic friend, Miss Anna Key, first introduced me to the erotic genre of paranormal romance and the author J.R. Ward nearly three years ago. On first reading Dark Lover I was hooked, I adored Beth and Wrath and couldn’t wait to read the rest of the series. The characters were unlike anything I had read before, the men were masculine, sexy and strong, but their women had an inner strength and beauty that I adored. Sadly, as the series progressed I became increasingly frustrated, the female characters were mere shadows who were relegated to the background and the storylines became disappointing. I ended up skipping chunks of the books just to get to the ‘good bits’.

the kingMy excitement and hope were renewed when I heard that Ward was publishing The King – a book dedicated to my two favourite characters, who ignited my love for the series and I was hopeful that they could do the same again. I was not disappointed. For me, Ward is virtually back to her best, long gone are the convoluted storylines with so many sub-plots and new characters that I got bored trying to keep up. Yes, this book addresses some other characters, namely Assail and Sola, but for once I enjoyed the extra characters. This was the first book in a long time that I have not skipped through, although I did have quite a few eye-rolling moments.

Now, the things that I thoroughly disliked about this book were the continual pop culture references, why did Ward feel the need to reference Miley Cyrus so much? These annoyances do not fit with the general writing of Ward, feeling forced and unauthentic resulting in the writing being stifled and clunky in places. The sex was lacking in this instalment of the BDBH, with it being positively missing in parts. Yes there was more emphasis on relationships and the emotional side of the story, but as a reader I still want the balance of sex and emotion.

The focus of The King is Beth and Wrath’s relationship, her need for a baby and issues surrounding the throne. The last few chapters of this book is what made it worthwhile reading, it was heart warming and the happy ending that I needed.

The King has reconciled some of the disappointment I have been feeling towards The Black Dagger Brotherhood series recently, but it will be the last one I read. Personally, this was a fitting ending to the series and I will not continue reading future books, as I cannot face my idolisation of the novels that introduced me to paranormal romance to be further deflated in my estimations.